CNC-IUPAC: Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
CSC Site
NRC Site
Contact Us

CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards

CNC-IUPAC established a program of travel awards in 1982 to enable young scientists who are currently working at a Canadian institution to present their research at IUPAC-sponsored conferences outside of Canada. Applicants should be within 10 years of having obtained their PhD. The awards are sponsored jointly by CNC-IUPAC’s company associates and the Gendron Fund, which was established in memory of a noted Canadian chemist who organized a highly successful IUPAC congress in Vancouver, BC in 1981. Although many IUPAC member countries have national committees that handle liaison with IUPAC, to the best of our knowledge, the Canadian National Committee is the only one that operates a travel awards program.


CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards for 2019

The Canadian National Committee for IUPAC (CNC/IUPAC) established a program of Travel Awards for young Canadian scientists in 1982. These Awards are financed jointly by the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s Gendron Fund and by CNC/IUPAC’s Company Associates (

Criteria: The criteria used in making these Awards include evidence of an independent research program, a publication record of high quality and the ability to attract research funding (internal and external).

Purpose of the Awards: The purpose of these Awards is to help young Canadian scientists and engineers within 10 years of having gained their Ph.D. who are currently working at a Canadian institution, present a paper at an IUPAC-sponsored conference outside of Canada.

Number of Awards: Since the funds available for these Awards depend on prevailing interest rates, the number made each year varies but is usually about four. The CNC-IUAC Travel Award may be received only once.

Amount of the Award: Up to $2,500, paid in arrears after travel-expense receipts and a 150-word report on the conference have been received by the Secretary.

How to Apply: There is no application form. Applications should include: 1) a short Curriculum Vitae, 2) two Letters of Reference, including one from someone not at the applicant’s university, research institution or company. 3) a cover letter outlining the name and location of the conference, a copy or link to the conference circular and the reasons why this particular conference fits your research goals.

It is up to the applicant to ensure that his or her request is supported by adequate documentation.

Applications should be submitted as one pdf file to the Chair of the Awards Committee: Professor Mark Workentin at Letters of reference should be sent directly to Dr. Workentin by e-mail. Receipt of applications will be acknowledged by return e-mail; if acknowledgement is not received within a few days, contact Dr. Workentin (by e-mail or phone 519-661-2111 Ext. 86319).

Eligible Conferences: A list of IUPAC-sponsored conferences for 2019 can be found on the IUPAC web-site ( and also in Chemistry International, the IUPAC magazine. Awards are made to attend the conference identified in the application, and no changes are allowed without written permission from the Chair.

Deadline for Receipt of Applications: 19 October 2018. Winners will be announced after the December meeting of CNC/IUPAC, and thereafter all enquiries should be directed to the Secretary.

Secretary and Member of CNC-IUPACDr. Shan Zou, Measurement Science and Standards, National Research Council Canada, 100 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0R6 Tel: 613-949-9675 National Research Council, Ottawa, ON,  K1A 0R6.   Email:


2018 Award Winners

Four Emerging Canadian Chemists have received awards to participate in 2018 IUPAC sponsored international conferences as part of the Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (CNC-IUPAC) travel awards program.

Congratulations to the four winners of the 2018 CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards:

Prof. Jeffrey J. Warren, Simon Fraser University (27th IUPAC International Symposium on Photochemistry in Dublin, Ireland. July 8-14, 2018)

Prof. Michael J. Katz, Memorial University (43rd International Conference on Coordination Chemistry in Sendai, Japan. July 30-August 4, 2018)

Prof. Sophie Rousseaux, University of Toronto - St. George Campus (XXII International Conference on Organic Synthesis in Florence, Italy. September 16-21, 2018)

Prof. Yuri Bolshan, University of Ontario Institute of Technology (XXII International Conference on Organic Synthesis in Florence, Italy. September 16-21, 2018)

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

Previous Award Winners