CNC-IUPAC: Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry Français
CSC Site
NRC Site
Contact Us

2015 Award Winners

Congratulations to the four winners of the 2015 CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards:

BrussoJaclyn Brusso, University of Ottawa
Jaclyn Brusso obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Waterloo under the direction of Richard Oakley in 2006. She was an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow in Dmitrii Perepichka’s group at McGill University and then Steven Holdcroft’s group at Simon Fraser University. In 2010, Jaclyn started her independent research career at the University of Ottawa. The overreaching aim of her research program is to address key challenges in the design and development of novel electronic, optical and magnetic materials. More specifically, her research focuses on the fabrication of new closed and open shell organo-main group compounds to investigate their structure-property relationships and explore their potential as non-innocent ligands in the development of novel coordination complexes. With the support of the 2015 CNC-IUPAC Travel Award, she will attend the 45th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Busan, Korea.

MassonJean-François Masson, University of Montreal
Jean-François Masson is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the Université de Montréal. His expertise encompasses biosensing with plasmonic materials, instrument development, surface chemistry to minimize biofouling and detection of proteins and drugs directly in crude biofluids. Jean-François holds a BSc in Chemistry from Université de Sherbrooke (2001), a PhD in Analytical Chemistry from Arizona State University (2005), and a post-doctoral fellowship at Georgia Tech (2005-2007). Jean-Francois received several awards including the Tomas Hirschfeld award (2005), the Fred Beamish award (2013), and an Alexander von Humboldt fellowship (2013-2014). He has published more than 50 research articles and he is an Associate Editor for the Analyst. His research has led to filing 8 patents on diverse instrumental, materials or surface chemistry innovations for biosensing. The CNC-IUPAC travel award will support travel to attend the 45th IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in Busan, Korea.

ChicaRoberto Chica, University of Ottawa
Roberto Chica received his Ph.D. in 2007 from the Université de Montréal where he worked on enzyme engineering under the supervision of Profs. Joelle Pelletier and Jeffrey Keillor. He then worked as a FRQNT Postdoctoral Fellow at the California Institute of Technology under Prof. Stephen Mayo, a world leader and pioneer in computational protein design (2007-2009). In 2010, Dr. Chica joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Ottawa where he is an Assistant Professor. His research aims to achieve three general objectives, which are the development of cutting-edge multistate computational protein design methods to enable the engineering of complex protein functions on demand, the creation of useful proteins for chemical and biological applications, and the acquisition of fundamental knowledge about protein structure/function relationships. With the support of the CNC-IUPAC Travel Award, Dr. Chica will attend the 45th World Chemistry Congress IUPAC-2015 in Busan, Korea in August 2015.

SeferosDwight Seferos, University of Toronto
Dwight Seferos attended Western Washington University, completing a B.S. degree in 2001. He entered the graduate school at the University of California, Santa Barbara where he worked under the supervision of Guillermo Bazan on the synthesis and study of organic molecules with delocalized electronic systems. After completing a Ph.D. in 2006, Seferos moved to Northwestern University where he was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow with Chad Mirkin. In 2009, Seferos began his independent laboratory in the Chemistry Department at the University of Toronto where his research interests focus on the optical and electronic properties of semiconducting polymers and nanomaterials for applications in energy. He will use the CNC-IUPAC Travel Award to participate in the Congress of the European Polymer Federation in Dresden, Germany (June, 2015) where he will present his latest results on tellurophene and selenophene polymers.